Odds and Sods

Well, I know you’ve all been waiting impatiently for he next update, tapping your fingers and rolling your eyes at the slowness of the author. Well, suck it up – I’ve got things to do and places to go!

Aawwww! There’s joey peeking out of mum’s pouch on our front lawn. Feel better now? Was it worth the wait?

Since the last post, we have been boating with Harvey and Diana for a day on their cruiser, we have played more golf, had a visit from Russell’s cousin and her son (he lives in Japan) and seen two more koala bears. We’ve been to lunch on the beach in Stockton where Russell grew up, and we finally turned the air-conditioner on, as it was 36C (97F).

We’re also getting expert in recognizing bird calls. There’s the kookaburra cackle, the caustic sound of the crow, beautiful piping sounds from the butcher birds and the rather plain chirping of the rosellas. What the latter miss in sounds, they make up in beauty. Look at my collection of rosella feathers.
image

I have also donated blood at the Aussie blood bank, and as I was born in South Africa, they are now testing my blood for malaria. Hellloooo, you’d think I’d have noticed if I had it in the past 40 years. Well, better safe than sorry, as the saying goes.

On a more serious note, we are still overwhelmed at being here for six months. On a golf course, right on the first tee, surrounded by nature, the most gorgeous beaches just minutes away. I could go on and on. I can’t believe how lucky we are! On the downside, I had news that juvenile delinquents completely dented the hood of my car back in Canada. I’m waiting to hear what the repair is going to cost. Then I shall buy a voodoo doll and stick looooong red-hot pins into it. The little sh*ts.

Oh – I have a new wedding ring. The original one, which I decided I wanted, but I bought a cheap copy off ebay from Hong Kong, for $25.00, started to look very ratty after two months. All the fake gold came off. Well, go figure that one – $25.00 and see what happens! So, my man decided to take matters into his own hands, and look what I got!!!! Smart chap – no ebay cheapos for him!!!
image

Now, to all our Florida friends – we will be back next winter – I promise. We’re sorting out rentals already, and are looking forward to the good life with you!

So until my next blog, which I shall title “Signs of Australia”, keep well, keep smiling and keep warm!

One thought on “Odds and Sods

  1. Congratulations – Your ring is BEAUTIFUL…… – Glad to hear that Russell showed up !!! Good man …… Miss you guys – love reading your blogs..

Leave a Reply

